205A3FD3-2C85-4B22-9382-BF91AE55C6B7 205A3FD3-2C85-4B22-9382-BF91AE55C6B7
Bad Weather Header
NOAA + NWS Logos

Accroître la portée de NWS grâce à la traduction adaptative et basée sur l'IA

La technologie de traduction automatique neuronale adaptative de Lilt entraîne des performances de traduction NWS améliorées pour les alertes météorologiques vitales
États-Unis

Pays

États-Unis

Civils fédéraux

Segment

Civils fédéraux

Alertes météorologiques d'urgence

Cas d'utilisation

Alertes météorologiques d'urgence

Pourquoi Lilt ?

NWS avait besoin d'un partenaire innovant pour accroître l'efficacité de la traduction

Résultats

Des traductions très précises en quelques minutes plutôt qu'en quelques jours

Le défi du National Weather Service (Service météorologique national)

Le Service météorologique national protège la vie et la propriété de tous les Américains lors des événements météorologiques dangereux, indépendamment de leur origine ou de la langue qu'ils parlent. Pour atteindre les 22 % des résidents des États-Unis qui parlent une langue autre que l'anglais chez eux, le NWS exige la plus haute précision en matière de traduction et de capacité de traduction instantanée des produits météorologiques dans de multiples langues, y compris les langues que le NWS n'avait jusqu'alors pas prises en charge. 

Une solution dynamique et adaptative

Le logiciel de traduction neural de Lilt apprend en temps réel depuis les entrées prévisionnelles de NWS. Notre outil de CAT fournit des suggestions de traduction, que les linguistes peuvent approuver ou modifier. Le système adaptatif apprend grâce aux corrections et intègre les commentaires dans les traductions futures. Cette technologie innovante permet aux linguistes de traduire plus rapidement sans sacrifier à la qualité et permet aux organisations de faire évoluer les modèles adaptés pour une traduction automatique plus précise.

[Notre projet avec Lilt] applique l'automatisation pour gagner en efficacité en termes de délais de traduction tout en réduisant le fardeau de la traduction pour notre personnel, en particulier lors des événements météorologiques dangereux et critiques.

Monica Bozeman

Lead de traduction linguistique automatisée

Faster Weather Report Publication

In dangerous weather situations, every second counts. Lilt’s adaptive translation engine is continuously learning agency-specific terminology and using NWS linguist activity to improve translation velocity. With Lilt, NWS translations that previously would have taken hours will take minutes.

Moins de risque de fausses traductions

Une erreur de traduction dans les alertes météorologiques d'urgence pourrait avoir des conséquences humaines. Pour garantir la plus haute précision possible, les linguistes de NWS travaillent directement sur la plateforme Lilt en examinant et en approuvant les recommandations de traduction prédictives. Les mémoires adaptées qui en résultent permettent également une plus grande précision pour les flux de travail entièrement automatisés.

Outils pour rationaliser la traduction

Les linguistes de NWS comptent sur la plateforme de traducteur Lilt pour faciliter la vérification et la modification des produits météorologiques. Notre plateforme intuitivement conçue et alimentée par l'IA supprime les étapes manuelles et redondantes, de sorte que les linguistes puissent se concentrer sur leurs compétences.

Traduisez avec Lilt dès aujourd'hui

NWS Translates Life-Saving Alerts with Lilt >>

Read More
Bad Weather Header
NOAA + NWS Logos

Increasing the Reach of NWS Through Adaptive, AI-powered Translation

Lilt's adaptive neural machine translation technology drives improved NWS translation performance for life-saving weather alerts
United States

Country

United States

Federal Civilian

Segment

Federal Civilian

Emergency Weather Alerts

Use Case

Emergency Weather Alerts

Why Lilt?

NWS needed an innovative partner to increase translation efficiency

Results

Highly accurate translations in minutes rather than days

The National Weather Service's Challenge

The National Weather Service protects the life and property of all Americans during hazardous weather events, regardless of where they were born or what language they speak. To reach the 22% of U.S. residents that speak a language other than English at home, NWS requires the highest possible translation accuracy and ability to instantly translate weather products into multiple languages, including languages NWS had not previously supported. 

A Dynamic, Adaptive Solution

Lilt’s neural translation software learns in real-time from NWS forecaster input. Our CAT tool provides translation suggestions, which linguists can approve or edit. The adaptive system learns from corrections and incorporates feedback in future translations. This innovative technology allows linguists to translate more quickly without sacrificing quality and enables organizations to scale adapted models for more accurate machine translation.

[Our project with Lilt] applies automation to gain efficiency with translation turnaround times while reducing the burden of translation on our personnel, especially during critical hazardous weather events.

Monica Bozeman

Automated Language Translation Lead

Faster Weather Report Publication

In dangerous weather situations, every second counts. Lilt’s adaptive translation engine is continuously learning agency-specific terminology and using NWS linguist activity to improve translation velocity. With Lilt, NWS translations that previously would have taken hours will take minutes.

Lower Risk of Mistranslations

A translation error in emergency weather alerts could have severe human consequences. To ensure the highest possible accuracy, NWS linguists work directly in the Lilt platform, reviewing and approving predictive translation recommendations. The resulting adapted memories also enable higher accuracy for fully automated workflows.

Tools to Streamline Translation

NWS linguists rely on the Lilt translator platform to make checking and editing weather products easier. Our intuitively designed, AI-powered platform removes manual and redundant steps, so linguists can focus where their skills are most needed.

Translate with Lilt today