Lilt organizes translation data into containers called Memories. A Memory is a collection of source/target sentences for a specific language pair (e.g., English>French). The data in the Memory is used to train the MT system, populate the TM, and update the termbase. Memories are private to your account - the data is not shared across users. However, as a project manager you can share a Memory with your team so that all project managers within that team can access and modify the Memory (e.g. upload TMs, edit termbases, etc.).
Lilt works best when it can first learn from a translation memory (TM) that contains similar content to the text to be translated. You can create a separate custom memory, specializing the suggestions you see, for each client or for broader domains like legal contracts or IT documentation. The same intuitions that apply to organize traditional translation memories apply here. In fact, creating custom memories for each domain or client rather than aggregating all data into one, e.g. the default memory, can prevent latency issues and improve speed as well as improve the translation quality of the suggestions.
Each language pair also has one default memory associated with it, and all projects that do not have a specific Memory associated share this default memory.
To create and populate a Memory:
- Click on Memories on the top navigation bar.
- Click the Create Memory button to create a new Memory.
- Give the new Memory a name (e.g., "EnEs Legal Contract Memory"). Press Create.
- Scroll down to find the Memory that you just created. Click EDIT.
- Upload TM resources by pressing IMPORT and selecting files from your local drive. Supported formats are TMX, SDLTM, TBX, CSV, TSV, and/or two-column XLSX format.
- (Optional: Share the Memory with other project managers in your team by clicking on the share icon on the right)
Memories are then associated with projects at project creation time.
Create a Memory
To create a Memory, press the Create Memory button on the Memories page:
Then find the new Memory in the list, and click the memory name to add translation memory data (TMX or SDLTM files).
Edit a Memory
At any time you can import additional TM and TB files by clicking the EDIT button on the Memories page. This opens the Edit Memory dialog:
You can safely close the Edit Memory dialog at any time; you don't need to wait for Lilt to finish training.
For the TB in your Memory, you can edit its content by clicking the Edit Termbase link in the menu on the left.
Automatic Updating / Training
When you confirm a translation, Lilt automatically updates the Memory that is associated with the project. Each new translation helps Lilt adapt both the Editor and the Lexicon to your style and field of specialization. For the best results, upload translation memories to give Lilt a head start.